Home | Astrology| Unus Mundus| FAQs| StarryMart|
Add A Link
Dr Z and José
Home > Astrology > Basics > Crash

II - Signs of the Zodiac
as described by the Elements and Modes

Moving ahead, we come to the Signs of the Zodiac (that most folks are at least semi-familiar with)... At the very heart and soul of the twelve Zodiac signs are the Elements and Modes - that a lot of folks, including myself, mistakenly ignore(d) when first starting out. However, ignoring the Elements and Modes is a huge mistake - because they are responsible for determining the basic qualities and characteristics of the twelve Zodiac signs.

The twelve Zodiac signs are divided up into different cyclic combinations of the Elements and Modes.

The cycle of the Four Elements:
(1st) Fire, (2nd) Earth, (3rd) Air (4th) and Water

The cycle of the Three Modes:
(1st) Cardinal, (2nd) Fixed (3rd) and Mutable.

Again... each of the twelve Zodiac signs is a different cyclic combination of these four basic Elements and three basic Modes.

Here's a boring chart to look at so that you can see the cycles:

Sign Element Cycle  Mode Cycle
Aries Fire Cardinal
Taurus Earth Fixed
Gemini Air Mutable
Cancer Water Cardinal
Leo Fire Fixed
Virgo Earth Mutable
Libra Air Cardinal
Scorpio Water Fixed
Sagittarius Fire Mutable
Capricorn Earth Cardinal
Aquarius Air Fixed
Pisces Water Mutable
  • Did you happen to notice how fire, earth, air and water kept repeating its cycle (three times)?
  • Did you likewise notice how cardinal, fixed and mutable kept repeating its cycle (four) times?
No? Well, then go back and take another look at the boring chart...

And the fact is... with a little brain strain and imagination - you can pretty much understand the basic qualities and characteristics of the twelve different Zodiac signs based solely on the cyclic Element and Mode combination.

Missed Me, Missed Me, Now You Gotta Kiss Me
I briefly discuss how one can do this in "What is a mutable/fire sign, anyway?" or "Missed me, missed me, now you gotta kiss me."

I hate to brag... but if you've never been able to make "heads or tails" of the Elements and Modes, then you might not want to miss this.

The point of all this is that, in your birth chart, each of the planets (and points) mentioned in Section I are usually located in several different Zodiac signs. The Zodiac Sign a particular planet is located in modifies how the raw energy of the planet is expressed in your life.

Sure... you most likely know what Zodiac Sign your birth Sun is located in - but where is the Ascendant, the Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto?

Crash Course Menu

I- Planets II - Signs III - Aspects IV - Houses
Home > Astrology > Basics > Crash